The Lake Isle Of Innisfree

The  Lake  Isle  Of  Innisfree

by

William Butler Yeats

I will arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made;
Nine bean rows will I have there, a hive for the honey bee,
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.

And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.

I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

This poem draws an enchanting picture of an idyllic place where Yeats yearns to be – it contrasts between where man is and where he would like to be. The feeling of time standing still, which is shared with the previously posted poem ‘Adlestrop‘, is a rare quality in a poem.

William_Butler_Yeats_by_John_Singer_Sargent_1908

In Yeats own words.

“my first lyric with anything in its rhythm of my own music”

Hear Yeats recite it in his own voice here.

But be prepared for the Irish accent which, considered musical by many, jars my unlearned Indian ears.  Each of us hears poetry recited in one’s mind very differently from the way some one else would recite it.

Credits – See embedded links. The lake picture above, taken from Wikimedia Commons,  is not Lough Gill in which Innisfree resides but another beautiful Irish lake.

Explore posts in the same categories: lakes, nature, poetry

Tags: , , , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “The Lake Isle Of Innisfree”

  1. Ava Says:

    Dont we all wish to shun humanity and live close to nature?

    Lovely poem.


  2. Return to nature is a strong emotion in humanity and finds frequent expression in works of art and literature.


  3. Lovely poem. One of my favourites. It was great to read it… again.

    P.S. Thanks for stopping by my blog, though 🙂

  4. Kaddu Says:

    Reminded me of my school days… this poem was in my course book. Had been thinking of googling for it for some time now, but kept forgetting! Thanks for sharing it here.

    I have a question… this translate widget you have in your sidebar, is it exclusively for wordpress or can it be used in blogger too? If it can be used in blogger, then can you please tell me where to get it from?

  5. Moumita Says:

    Very nice blog. Just had a look and intend to come back again. So added it in my blog link.

    My comment is not specific to this post but could not find a space to leave a comment on the blog itself. So left it in the recent post.

  6. iniyaal Says:

    Thanks for pointing me to this post 🙂 How beautiful this poem is.
    “I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
    While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements gray,
    I hear it in the deep heart’s core.”

    We are never separate from nature… Irrespective of the chaos around; heart is always one with nature… beating in rhythm to match nature’s rhythm… our soul always in peace deep within, the peace that pervades nature and all creatures.


Leave a Reply

