Stopping by the woods on a snowy evening!

Robert Frost‘s 1922 poem ‘Stopping by woods on a snowy evening‘  contains important messages, but it is equally delightful to read it at face value. The text evokes powerful images in the mind. It is one of my favourites.

Snow_at_pond_2

Stopping By Woods On A Snowy Evening
by

Robert Frost

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

The end

The poem in Frost's own handwriting! Courtesy rocksea. Copyright not known.

The poem in Frost's own handwriting! Courtesy rocksea. Copyright not known.

US Postage stamp of 1974

US Postage stamp of 1974

Feel free to suggest poems that celebrate nature and wildlife!

Credits – Michael Wassmer (France) for image (thru Wikimedia Commons). Wikipedia for links. Adam Smith Academy for the text.

Explore posts in the same categories: nature, poetry, postage stamps, Robert Frost

19 Comments on “Stopping by the woods on a snowy evening!”


  1. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Rohit Rattan Says:

    The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
    But I have promises to keep,
    And miles to go before I sleep,
    And miles to go before I sleep.

    These lines were written on the wall of my school.
    Thanks for sharing.

  3. rocksea Says:

    This is one of my favorite poems. I have a scanned copy of it in Robert Frost’s own handwriting. May be I can find it and send it you sometime.

    Roxy


  4. Do share this interesting image. What’s the copyright status of it?

  5. Rahul Parekh Says:

    Beautiful poem…love it :). TFS.

  6. iniyaal Says:

    This is one poem I love. Every time I read these lines, my interpretation changes… Thanks for sharing 🙂


    • Please share these here for our benefit.

      • iniyaal Says:

        The first four lines of this poem..
        a person leaves behind his beautiful woods to reside in the village. Far away from all this beauty, though he has the utmost right to enjoy nature’s magnificience, he cannot do so.

        Does this not sound like so many of us… leaving behind our quaint native villages, hills or sometimes our motherland, we travel to cities or far away countries in search of greener pastures.

        Nature has its own way… Man has created a system by which he thinks he can own lands, rivers and streams. But not mean everyone gets to enjoy the beauty of what they own or lock it away from others.. for he who thirsts for natures beauty knows that the entire world is his.

        Not sure if I have selected the write words to pen down my thoughts… Thoughts inspired by this poem are so intense that I realize documenting interpretations have serious limitations.


        • This brings a thought to my mind. How many of us really enjoy what we are blessed with. Whether it is the things around us which Nature/God has given us free or the possessions we own. How many of us have unread books, unworn clothes, unused possessions.

          This thought process sets you off on the idea of how life should be as espoused by Frost/Thoreau/Yeats.

          Please also do read Yeats ‘The Lake Isle of Innisfree’ on this blog.

  7. Lery Says:

    This is one of my favourite poem.

  8. Cathy Says:

    Hi, I hope it’s okay with you if I borrow your post here? I belong to a group called eons and one of our challenges was to think of what “solitude means for us and the first thing I thought of was a snowy forest and the second thing I thought of was the Robert Frost Poem Well, I googled the powem because I was going to post the words first and then add my own photo…but then the very first photo I click on is your post and of course it was just exactly what I was thinking…so, I hope you don’t mind if I borrow it??? http://www.eons.com/groups/topic/1950143-Challenge-14-Solitude-?page=1


    • Absolutely. They are under Creative Commons. You need to attribute whatever you have taken to me with this blog post url.

      I saw your eons.com link and I can recommend some more alternative nature poems from this blog which will work on the theme ‘solitude’:

      Daffodils – Addlestrop – The Lake Isle of Innisfree

      All the best.


  9. […] Stopping by the woods on a snowy evening! July 2009 15 comments 5 […]


  10. u know robert frost is great coz…….. he wrote sch a hearth-throb poem for us..i so glad


Leave a Reply

